Home  »  Solutions  »  Browse by Discipline  »  Exploration Insights  »  Earth Model Award

The Earth Model Award is an International Geoscience Competition Rewarding Excellence in Master's Level Research.

The Earth Model Award (EMA) was established as the Neftex Earth Model Award in 2012, in affiliation with the Geological Society of London, to foster the link between industry and academia by rewarding excellence in Master’s level research.

We are pleased to announce that for the first time, the 2017 competition is going international and will be open to qualified geoscience Masters students.

The competition will open on the 24th of August for projects relating to global geoscience with implications for natural resource exploration, particularly those related to our next STEPS research theme: Big Data Science in Exploration and Production.


  • An industry-recognized award for Master’s geoscience research projects
  • Global recognition for both student and university
  • An opportunity to present to an international audience of Exploration and Production companies

Application Process

  • The competition will open at the Landmark Innovation Forum and Expo (LIFE) event in Houston, on 24th August 2017 and will close on 31st October at 5.00pm GMT
  • Applications will be accepted via the iEnergy website
  • Applications are on a first come first served basis, with a maximum of two project submissions per department and five per university. Short-listed candidates will be required to submit their full Master’s thesis which will be reviewed by an independent judging panel
  • 1st prize ($2,500 USD), 2nd prize ($1,500 USD) and 3rd prize ($1,000 USD) will be awarded to students with matching amounts for their university departments    
  • Prize winners will receive their award in person at the LIFE Houston event in August 2018, and present their research to a global E&P audience
Planar Client Options
Layout Style
  • Wide
  • Boxed
Theme Preview